Background Image

2022 Lieutenant Governor's Medal of Distinction in Public Administration

About the Award

The Lieutenant Governor's Medal of Distinction in Public Administration is Ontario’s highest honour for public service. It recognizes a public servant in Ontario who has demonstrated exemplary leadership, dedication and innovation and contributed significantly to their community.

The award is administered by IPAC’s Southwest Ontario, National Capital Region and Toronto Regional Groups and is a partnership with the Office of the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario who presents the award each year at a ceremony.

This award builds on Ontario’s traditions of strong public administration to recognize and celebrate public service excellence.

Letter from The Lieutenant Governor of Ontario

Since 1990, when the Lieutenant Governor’s Medal of Distinction in Public Administration was established in Ontario, outstanding recipients have been recognized for their exemplary leadership in this field throughout the province.

Over the years, these individuals have distinguished themselves through their endeavours that have made significant contributions in leadership roles within public administration in Ontario. The selection committee reviewing the nominations includes representatives from federal, provincial, and municipal governments, as well as the academic community.

The significant achievements of award recipients have made this province a better place to live. Public administration is an honourable calling, attracting those with a commitment to creating the best and most efficient ways of serving our communities at large.

As The Queen’s representative in Ontario, it is my great honour to annually present this Medal of Distinction in Public Administration.

Eligibility Criteria

  1. Current or former public servants at any level of government, agency, board or commission and teachers or students of public administration are eligible for nomination.
  2. The work of federal public servants must be primarily Ontario-focused.
  3. In order to preserve the non-partisan nature of the award, individuals actively engaged in politics are not eligible for nomination regardless of any previous contributions to public service.
  4. Board and executive members of IPAC at the national or regional level are ineligible for nomination.
  5. Membership in IPAC is not a requirement to submit a nomination or to be nominated. Self-nominations are accepted.
  6. Individuals are eligible regardless of their field, responsibilities, or level within their organization. Professional contributions should relate to administrative or management activities rather than scientific or technical activities.

Selection Process

Nominations will be evaluated by the following six criteria:  

  • Leadership
  • Innovation and Creativity
  • Accomplishment/Impact
  • Dedication and Sustained Effort
  • Contribution to the Profession
  • Contribution to the Community
Other Guidelines & Information
  1. To submit a nomination package, complete a nomination form that includes the following as enclosures:
    • Nomination Letter: a cover letter (one to two pages) that includes contact information for the nominee and the nominator(s) and an overview of the content of the nomination package.
    • Biography: a summary of the nominee’s educational background, positions held, civic and professional involvement and other relevant information (three to five pages).
    • Supporting Statement: maximum of 2 pages summarizing how the nominee meets the criteria.
    • Accomplishments: description of the key accomplishments and achievements of the nominee as they relate to the selection criteria (maximum three pages).
    • References: letters from three to six persons in support of the nomination.
  2. Nominations are considered for 3 years, including the year of nomination.
  3. The selection committee’s decisions are solely based on information provided on the nomination form.
  4. The names of nominees and the ranking of nominees by the selection committee shall be confidential.

Key Dates

Nomination Deadline Stay tuned for the 2023 nomination deadline!
Winner Announced Fall 2023

Nomination Form

Nomination form for 2023 application season will be released soon!
2020 Medal Recipient
Robert N. Shelton
[ Full Release ]
2017 Medal Recipient
David Bogart
[ Full Release ]
2019 Medal Recipient
Kimberly Murray
[ Full Release ]
2016 Medal Recipient
Senator Tony Dean
[ Full Release ]
2018 Medal Recipient
David Cleaveley
[ Full Release ]
2015 Medal Recipient
Fiona Crean
[ Full Release ]